Working with the ebb and flow of creativity

Recently I was asked how I manage ‘writer’s block’. This was my response.

I write lyrics, poetry, prose, blogs etc and there are times when there just doesn’t seem to be any flow for more. I used to panic a bit about that, but then one day I realised that when I was getting a lot of creative ideas, I wouldn’t bother to keep a record of them all and would just work on what was most prominent.
So then, I realised that I have times of great increase in creativity and times when my mind just has to process life and the best way to keep myself from being blocked, is to:

Accept that there are seasons of creative flow that are stronger than at other times

Record as much as I can, even if it’s just a sentence here or there – never taking the smallest things for granted (‘notes’ and ‘voice memo’s’ on iPhone are great for this as it goes to my mail account or iTunes and I can then just archive those ideas on my computer!)

3. Using those little snippets of ‘nothing’ as launch pads for when I feel like my creativity is all dried up at that time.

By doing this, it seems to take the pressure off and I feel more at peace which seems to be having a positive impact in creative seasons lasting for longer! Not quite sure how or why that is the case 🙂

It’s not foolproof by any measure, but for me, this is a way of life now which enables me to accept the seasonal oddities of my life and draw from my most productive times in the times when everything seems dry.

Oh. One last thing. I journal. Anecdotal as well as deep heart stuff that’s really personal. Helps get the frustration out in a private forum and sometimes I’m really blessed with an unexpected poem, lyrics or piece that encapsulates the deep feelings and I can use that in work later on.

All in all, creativity is within, continually. It really doesn’t leave us. It is us. We are the creativity. So when you are feeling ‘blocked’, consider taking stock of who you are and what you have achieved so far. It’s like taking ‘feel good’ medicine for the soul and somehow, looking back over what you’ve done in the past spurs a burst of self confidence and self worth that can’t be understated.

Of course you have to filter out all those ‘you’re no good’ phrases that bombard the mind. Just consider locking them away in a cupboard for later while you concentrate on boosting your soul and reminding yourself that you are an incredible piece of creativity yourself! That always seems to unblock any areas for me!

2 thoughts on “Working with the ebb and flow of creativity

  1. I think that’s a good attitude to have. There are a lot of posts across the internet on how to ‘beat’ writer’s block, but I’m not sure how effective they are. Personally, I find it frustrating, but I know that without fail a period of creative drought preceeds a torrent of productivity. I think writer’s block for all of us is when our subconcious stops to take stock of everything and work through whatever processes it usually does to give us story ideas. It’s like when you leave a laptop disconnected from the internet for a few weeks, and then come back to find there are 57 updates that need doing. I think it’s just our brains updating, and to be honest, that rush of creativity and producivity I get after a couple of days doing nothing feels a whole lot more satifisying than a couple of days of regular writing. Nice post 🙂

    Like

What's your thoughts?

