Is correcting someone more about me being right than them being informed?

So here’s the scenario.

You receive an email or facebook message (or whatever) from a friend.  They’re telling you about this really cool thing they’ve just discovered and they are totally excited… and almost right with their facts, but not quite right.  You know this because you happen to think you know more about the subject matter than they do.

So what do you do?

I know what I do.  And I’ve just discovered how distasteful the realisation is in my mouth.

I usually ‘fill them in’ or ‘add to’ what they’ve shared.  You know – just so they actually know what they are talking about.  Because of course I only have their best interests at heart don’t I?

Or do I?

Is it true that I always have their best interests at heart?  Or is it possible that what I am really doing is making sure that I maintain the status quo, that I remain more ‘informed’ than they are?

Hmmm.

Now I know this isn’t a light thing I’m proposing here.  This is meaty, deep heart stuff.  But if you’re willing to go there, as I did just today, and come to terms with the fact that there are times when our agenda is not at all about the other person’s best interests and is totally and blatantly about our own, then perhaps it will engender you to think more slowly before writing that response or before speaking out the knowledge that you have.

Keep in mind I am preaching straight to my own self right now as I write.  I have – so many times – overshadowed another person, albeit unwittingly at the time – with my own superior view of what I consider to be the truth of the matter.  Now, there are times when I am right.  I actually do know more!  But is it right for me to laud that over them?

My conclusion (so far) is that unless the information is life threatening, debilitating to their reputation, a scam or something of equal concern… perhaps it’s not my right or privilege to correct.

So in saying all of this, I formally apologise to all of you (and I’m betting you know who you are) for ever taking your thoughts so lightly, for ever causing you to think lower of yourself and  any time (which hopefully this is only a few) I have belittled you in public.

My deepest and sincerest apologies.

I can be loud mouthed, inconsiderate and totally self absorbed.  But I am also passionate, quick to love, quick to forgive and hopefully full of mercy.

Thanks for reading.

What's your thoughts?

