Choices, choices, choices…

Ok, so I can’t be the only one who struggles with the above phrase.  We seem to be so bombarded with choice these days.  And the more choices I have thrown at me, the more cumulative the effect seems to be, and sometimes not a positive one at that.  And it seems to be coming from every angle too!  TV, radio, books, internet, social life, family and household commitments, work commitments, SLEEP!, food, rest, fun…and then there’s the pressure to ‘make the right choice, right purchase; have the correct opinion or knowledge on something; find the right solution for a work issue; be the ‘right’ person for the job, effectively negotiate family disputes, be the ‘best’ kind of friend… and I’m sure you, dear reader, you could add a whole heap of other pressures that cause us to have to make definitive choices every day, to this list.  We all have a list I’m sure 🙂

So what is my point?

Hmmm…perhaps I am still mulling it over, but there are days where I just wish there were not so many options.  Sometimes I wish the simple choice of eggs on toast for dinner or Spaghetti Bolognese was the most serious decision I have to make today.  But of course, we are surrounded by the need to make choices, from those that are externally life changing (life partners, job changes, family or no family, etc), to those that are internally life changing (that being our mindsets, attitudes, self talk, etc).

And every day, we choose, even when we think we don’t.  Not choosing, is still choosing 🙂

So how do we find our way out of the chaos of dealing with choice?

Honestly, I don’t have a 10 step plan.  I don’t even have a 3 step plan.  In fact, I don’t have a definitive answer.

I do know however, that with each choice made, there are consequences – sometimes ones that play out well, sometimes not so well.  Perhaps the conclusion I am coming to is that the more things I say yes to, the less time I have to govern the consequences of those choices and so ultimately, I find myself feeling ‘caged’ by choice, instead of being ‘set free’ by choice.

Gosh, that’s all a bit gloomy isnt’ it???  :p

I wonder sometimes (well, in honesty, probably on a daily basis!) why God allows us to traverse some really tricky territory in our lives.  I am coming to the conclusion at this point in my life, that it’s because as we traverse these areas (which if we really think about it, we kinda chose), as we live out the consequences of our choices, we become more attuned to working out which choices are better than others; we become more refined in our approach to making those choices, and hopefully, our choices have a more effective outcome in our lives, having both a more positive internal and external effect on us, and on those around us.

So in saying all that, despite the fact that I face plenty of my own personal choices to govern right now, I think I would tentatively thank God for pushing me into the difficult territories throughout my life (and for allowing me to make some not so great choices), because I know that his desire for me is only one that is good.

Please feel free to comment and share your thoughts on choice.  It’s such a huge part of who we are, considering God first gave us the choice to choose to follow him…or not.  Looking forward to hearing your hard-earned wisdom 🙂

Miriam

What's your thoughts?

