Choice – and so the thoughts continue…

A few days ago I wrote about choices, about feeling overwhelmed by life and by the outcomes of our choices.  I knew at the time that my thoughts were unfinished, and am certainly aware that I’m not through all the processing as yet, but I thought I’d share some new thoughts 🙂

The main thread I think from before, was that perhaps the more things we chose to take on, the less time (and subsequently the less energy, emotional capacity, mental acuity,  etc) we have to govern those choices well.  I was pondering how to deal with this reality that we all face on a regular basis and a couple of ideas have come to my attention this week that I thought might be worth sharing with you.

The first thing I’ve discovered so far, is that the old ‘write it down to make it plain’ adage is really valuable.  Now, I know that I have a tendency to be ‘wordy’ (gasp!!) but you don’t have to be a wordsmith to be able to write down how you feel.  In fact, sometimes it’s better if you only know how to ‘write it plain’…because it will be…well…plain… 🙂

I found that as I wrote out my feelings, my mixed emotions started to become clearer and more defined.  Sometimes writing it down can be a bit confronting, but remember that you don’t have to share your thoughts with anyone so know that it can be really candid and personal if you need to.

I suppose Habakkuk 2:2-3 was right:

And the Lord answered me:

“Write the vision;
    make it plain on tablets,
    so he may run who reads it.
For still the vision awaits its appointed time;
    it hastens to the end—it will not lie.
If it seems slow, wait for it;
    it will surely come; it will not delay.

So with that scripture in the back of my mind, I think what happened then, was that I found my heart feeling a bit lighter and the fog in my mind starting to clear.  I encourage you dear friend, that if you are feeling overtired; if your conversation seems strained; if you are having trouble making simple decisions – it’s possible that you need to spend a little time alone, with pen and paper in hand, and those things that are bothering you.  I won’t guarantee you’ll find the answers yet, but I can tell you that this process seems to take you into a new place of perspective, which will at least give you time to regroup and take stock of things in a more clarified way.

And with that, I will close out for the night – bite sized thoughts are great to chew on over the weekend.  I’ll let you know what I discover in this process of processing as it…processes… 😀

Miriam

What's your thoughts?

