Just when you think you’ve got it all sorted…

So I am wondering today about how we measure our internal wellness. What scaffold do we put in place and what kind of planning is done in advance, for our personal wellness, be it physical, mental, spiritual or emotional?

Honestly?

Perhaps it's just time to slow down?

Perhaps it’s just time to slow down?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I think it wasn’t until about 4 or so years ago that I really began to take stock, realistically and candidly. Over this time, the concept of rest has been both my nemesis and my muse. I have researched, wrestled with and written about what it means to live in a state of rest as well as creating a lifestyle that incorporates physical time for rest.

And yet, I still have days where I look back and see times where I thought I was fine, only to realise that I’ve missed those small, almost imperceptible, messages that the body sends to the mind.

So how do we create a construct around our too-busy lives that enables us to take stock on a regular basis in order to preempt the onslaught of illness and general fatigue?

So far, all I have is what I’ve learned. You can follow some good suggestions like ensuring you get enough sleep each day, taking regular time out of busy routines and scheduling in holidays and time to just be by oneself. I think that all these suggestions are great and worth implementing but I do think there is something else at play that we need to recognise, acknowledge and action.

Our culture doesn’t make a lot of room for personal reflection although I do see glimmers of hope here and there. However, in my experience, this kind of reflection is something that we all need to implement regularly. It’s really got nothing to do with what we each believe or how we carry out our day-to-day. It’s about being a good listener. Listening to the march of time upon the mind, the body, the spirit and the soul. Listening to those little ‘feelings’ that flutter into our conscious thought and doing something about them, rather than looking behind and seeing the signs we missed and dealing with the consequences.

Overall, what I have learned so far, is that time stands still for no one. I’ve also realised that the notion that I don’t have enough time is a fallacy. I control the outcomes of my day-to-day to a large extent. Granted, there are times when one simply cannot control the events of a day or a season but by and large, we really are responsible for how we govern what time we have.

I’ve also learned that how I choose to respond to any set of circumstances is imperative to my personal well-being and overall health. When I make the effort to ‘carve out time’ I give myself a virtual ‘heads up’ and it makes room for me to keep on top of the busyness in life. You could think of it like an investment into my future. 🙂

So for now, this is really all I know. I’m sure in another few years I’ll have learned more but for now, I wanted to share it with you. Day by day, choice by choice, we move forward into time, taking advantage of it rather than it taking advantage of us.

I hope my words find you in a good place and that you are moving forward, day by day, into a deeper and fuller encounter with life.

In love and honour,

Miriam

What's your thoughts?

