Why so serious?

I asked myself this question yesterday.

Why are you so serious when you write Miriam?  The answer?  No clue!
Hanging out with the physio and she put this crazy contraption on my face so she could work out why I was so dizzy!

Hanging out with the physio and she put this crazy contraption on my face so she could work out why I was so dizzy!

I’m not always that serious when I speak or when I am around my friends.  So why is it that it comes out on the page this way?
And why is it that some people seem to be able to make your insides shudder with joy and your core muscles think they’ve had a workout and others, perhaps like me, seem to pull your brain in all kinds of directions, probably leaving you with more questions than answers?
Why can’t I be intentionally funny too?
Yep, it's really me :)

Yep, it’s really me 🙂

I sat here this morning and thought ‘I’m going to write something funny’.  Ah, yep. Nope.  Nothing’s coming…I can be funny.  But try to be funny?  Nah.  It just doesn’t seem to be my destiny!
I love to follow a great writer called Jeff Goins because the first thing I ever read of his was about accepting the writer that you are and declaring it.  I think this too, follows on from that concept.  It’s like the songs that I write.  I’m not great at love songs.  I’m certainly not a funny song writer either. Trust me. I’ve tried that one too.
The reality is, I write what I know, what I see, what I feel and what I hear.
Whatever comes out of my psyche today is what falls out onto the plate and I hope that it is a meal worth eating and enjoying, even if it’s tone is more serious than humorous.
to write is to birth what is already conceived...

to write is to birth what is already conceived…

I will tell you thought, that I do know one thing:  we are all born to carry something and to deliver something.  Perhaps this is my ‘something’?
Until next time…
Miriam 

 

2 thoughts on “Why so serious?

What's your thoughts?

